[F] Why I Despise Bluestar

So, some people from the Warriors fandom have repeatedly asked me “Why do you despise Bluestar so much?”, and usually, I gave them a general answer. Today, I would like to go into why I think there’s a sheer amount of wrong with Bluestar as a character in the Warrior cats series.

I never always had a problem with Bluestar. In fact, I once viewed her as one of the most noble characters there was in the entire series.. then Bluestar’s Prophecy was released. And as I read the book, I tried my very best to keep an open mind. Problem is, you cannot really keep an open mind when everything you’ve been taught about clashes with everything you’re reading. Allow me to explain.

As an apprentice, Bluestar held a very major disdain for the duties she was being taught- I suppose the best word to sum it up is impulsive. She was too quick to judge a task (as seen with her practice of gathering moss for the elders) for what she thought it might be. That, in a sense, rubbed me the wrong way. Then the whole battle with WindClan occurred, and Bluestar’s mother, Moonflower, died by the claws of Hawkheart- a medicine cat.

This is the point when I lose all respect for Bluestar. The day she stopped focusing on her Clan for the sake of focusing on her losses, that is the day she became an invalid character.

When you have a major loss or death of a family member, it is perfectly natural to shy away from others and avoid them for some time. People (and cats, I guess) cope in their own individual way when a huge traumatic event like that happens. But you don’t spend three months or so avoiding all the things you need to do in your life just because something happened. You keep moving forward- and I’m grateful for Sunstar’s character because he quite frankly knocks sense into the apprentice.

Another thing that immensely irritated me was the whole deal with Thistleclaw. Not only was he loved by Bluestar’s sister, Snowfur, but he was also massively despised by Bluestar. For no good reason. All Bluestar saw was an arrogant warrior- and eventually that led him to being damned out of StarClan by Bluestar after she died. Her opinion sent a cat who technically never broke the warrior code to the Dark Forest.

Speaking of Snowfur, she eventually dies and Bluestar yet again abandons her loyalty and duties.

And then she falls in love with a RiverClan warrior.

I actually agreed with Goosefeather when he said “it is not your destiny to feel better” after Bluestar had kits and gave them up to Oakheart. Although the whole thing was against the code, Bluestar had the audacity to mourn a loss she never would have had to face if she didn’t do the deed.

So, I suppose that I have no sympathy for characters who waste their time on dwelling. Bluestar didn’t deserve to be leader, quite frankly, regardless of whatever prophecy might have existed for her. She wasted a majority of her life mourning instead of striving to be the best she could be.

That is why I don’t like her.

Leave a Reply

