[R] How I Found My Special Place

Hi everybody! So, today’s blog post will be a bit personal, because not necessarily everybody knows the beliefs I follow and the practices I attend to. For those of who you are unaware, I am an eclectic person- I take beliefs from different religions and apply them to my own, but I mainly follow a Pagan-related system. With that in mind, I realize not everybody feels as connected to nature as I do- but there is one place more than anywhere else that I have bonded with.

I have always been an indoors person, truth be told. I don’t like venturing outdoors very much, mostly because of my irrational fear of bees, but also because I don’t take enjoyment in sitting in sunlight and whatnot. That being said, I go on a walk almost daily primarily to get some exercise, but also to meditate.

My special sanctuary, where I feel closest to nature, is actually the playground of an elementary school. Some might view this as odd, but considering I am from Alaska and nearly every place is surrounded by some form of forest, I suppose that makes up for it.

I attended the elementary school as a little girl, but I have always found myself drawn back to the swing-set overlooking the nearby field. I noticed this summer that whenever I meditate at the given place- usually on the swing itself- I feel safe and I also sense an inner tranquil. Some people have to venture more to discover their special place. After all, it took me years to really confirm that the particular playground was mine.

Is there a particular area you feel drawn to outside of your home? That might be your place, and you’ll never know for sure unless you try to discover it. 🙂

1 thought on “[R] How I Found My Special Place”

  1. Ayla, Sometime when you are on the swing, take your shoes off and let your body feel Mother Earth. This is something most people no longer do. It is called “grounding” and is very important for all of us. Just think, from the time you get out of bed, your feet are touching only man-made, artificial surfaces; ie. carpet, wood, tile, socks, slippers and shoes. You can even sit in a chair barefoot outside in your backyard to get grounded. If you google grounding you can get more info. I have to tell you, it is a marvelous, healthy experience! Grab a chair or a swing and try it for 15 minutes every day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

