Starting a Bullet Journal

Hi everybody! Lately, I have personally been extremely scatterbrained- so, in order to increase my productivity, I will be utilizing my bullet journal. As there have been some people asking me what a bullet journal is, I will be giving a lot of information in this blog post!

What is a bullet journal?
A bullet journal is a specific journal system devoted to maintaining a productive aspect of life, all the while giving the option of customization. You can easily create your own bullet journal simply from an empty notebook and a pen. Although most people tend to add a lot of colors and artsy aspects to their “bujo”, the fact is that how you style yours is completely up to you: that is the beauty of the idea!

img_2888

How did you start yours?
I’ll be real. I’ve been doing bullet journals on-and-off since late 2015. One trick that has always grasped me is that I used to add too many tasks in one day, just for the sake of filling up the book. I emphasize heavily against this, and instead, utilizing a habit tracker- which I will be using this time around for a change.

That being said, I always set the first particular page as the Dashboard page- usually for the month. I often find myself needing a special region to throw random notes and ideas, and so the Dashboard would be quite a good place for that; especially if you often get hang-out ideas without a set date thrown on you.

img_2890.jpg

Afterward, I did end up trying something brand-new: a habit tracker. Even though most of these tasks are pretty straight-forward, there are some days where I might not remember if I took my morning medication! If I am able to look back on the tracker and see, I believe that it will be of immense usage to me. In addition, I cut the page in half, so I could use the other side for the following habit tracker.. but also so I can write out on the back page any certain notes about habits.

img_2891.jpg

Lastly, of course, is the weekly spread! I admit, I ended up getting frustrated with how I initially set up this page, because I am accustomed to using one full page per day. However, I think that the habit tracker and a weekly spread will turn out to be quite useful, regardless!

img_2893.jpg

There we go! If you have any suggestions or tips on how you set up your bullet journal, feel free to leave them in the comments! 🙂

1 thought on “Starting a Bullet Journal”

Leave a Reply

